Quanah ) is a city in and the county seat of Hardeman County, Texas, United States, 192 miles (309 km) northwest of Fort Worth, and a few miles from the Oklahoma-Texas state line. It is named for Quanah Parker, the last Comanche chief.It became the county seat in 1890. The courthouse, constructed in 1908, anchors what is now the historic downtown district. The courthouse was financed by a bond election approved by voters in 1906. The project architect was R.H. Stuckey of Chillicothe, Texas. It has both domed cupola and Ionic columns.Southeast of Quanah and south of Chillicothe is the ghost town of Medicine Mound, which consists of two buildings. One is a restoration of a former general store, which highlights the history of rural America. The curator is Myna Potts.Quanah is home to a branch of the Helen J. Farabee Mental Health Centers.