Tehachapi until it burned in June 2008. The building had been in the final stages of becoming a museum. It is since been rebuilt using the original plans with only minor modifications to meet modern building codes. The new depot was dedicated on June 5, 2010.On July 21, 1952 Tehachapi was devastated by a magnitude 7.5 (Richter scale) earthquake (USGS, SCEC) on the little known White Wolf Fault.One possibility for the origin of the name Tehachapi comes from the Kawaiisu language. The name may be derived from the word for "hard climb" or tihachipia, according to the Tomi-Kahni Resource Center.